Oregon Daylight Savings vote … but wait! … Congress

By Taxpayers Association of Oregon


Oregonians may no longer need to spring forward if state lawmakers approve a bill (SB 1548) abolishing Daylight Savings Time. A Senate committee unanimously approved the bill that would allow Oregon to join Arizona and Hawaii in maintaining standard time year-round. The House and the Senate still need to vote on the measure, but are expected since the bill has become bipartisan.

About 222 people submitted testimony in support of SB 1548, while 80 people opposed SB 1548 during the hearing.

The move is advancing despite not having authority granted by Congress or the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Will this lead to a State’s rights showdown?  Stay tuned.

SB 1548 summary reads, “For the part of the state in the Pacific Time Zone, stops the one-hour change of time in the spring and fall of each year and keeps the zone at standard time year-round. (Flesch Readability Score: 73.3). For the part of the state located in the Pacific Time Zone, abolishes the annual one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and maintains the Pacific Time Zone portion of Oregon on standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year.”

— Was this helpful?  If so, Contribute online at OregonWatchdog.com (learn about a Charitable Tax Deduction or Political Tax Credit options to promote liberty).