TAO, 40 conservative groups rally to oppose Speaker takeover

By Taxpayers Association of Oregon


This weekend there was an effort by some members of Congress to remove House Speaker Mike Johnson.

The last time the Speaker was vacated (mere months ago) the entire House agenda was shut down for nearly a month, nothing was being done, a clown-car array of replacements were floated and shot down in vain, liberals used the circus for a fundraising and media bonanza to bash the party in power driving voter disgust to high levels.  Our priority should be to get as much done as possible in the few remaining months left of 2024 by building upon the successes that Speaker Johnson has achieved.

Below is the information on what conservative groups rallied behind:

Americans for tax Reform Press Release,

A coalition of more than 40 conservative movement leaders released a today urging the House to oppose a vote on the motion to vacate the chair or any effort in which Republican lawmakers would vote with Democrats to remove Speaker Johnson.

The text of the letter and list of signers can be viewed below. Click here to view the full letter.

April 20, 2024

Dear Members,

We the undersigned conservative organizations and individuals write to oppose a vote on the motion to vacate the chair or any effort in which Republican lawmakers would vote with Democrats to remove Speaker Johnson.

Maintaining the Republican House majority is vital to any organization or individual focused on advancing conservative policy priorities and delivering wins on the Reagan-Trump agenda. We are just one House seat away from united Democrat rule in Washington and an unchecked return to the disastrous policies of the Biden administration. This cannot be allowed to happen.

Vacating a Republican Speaker distracts and undermines all progress on conservative issues while weakening the Republican majority in the House.

We therefore urge you to reject any vote on a motion to vacate the chair.


Grover Norquist

President, Americans for Tax Reform

Newt Gingrich

Former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives

Bob McEwen

Former Member of the U.S. House of Representatives

Marty Connors

Meeting Chair, Alabama Center-Right Coalition

Phil Kerpen

President, American Commitment

Thomas Pyle

President, American Energy Alliance

Lisa B. Nelson

CEO, American Legislative Exchange Council

John Mize

CEO, American’s United for Life

Ryan Ellis

President, Center for a Free Economy

Star Parker

President, Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)

Sandra Hagee Parker

Chairwoman, Christians United for Israel Action Fund

Penny Nance,

President/CEO, Concerned Women for America LAC

Hon. Ken Blackwell

Chairman, Council for National Policy Action

Nathan Leamer

Executive Director, Digital First Project

James Erwin

Executive Director, Digital Liberty

Kris Ullman

President, Eagle Forum

Cleta Mitchell

Founder, Election Integrity Network

Ralph Reed

Founder/Chairman, Faith & Freedom Coalition

Tony Perkins

President, Family Research Council

Jody Hice,

President, Family Research Council Action

George Landrith

President, Frontiers of Freedom

Ray Chadwick

Chairman, Granite State Taxpayers

Daniel Perrin

President, HSA Coalition

Heather Higgins

CEO, Independent Women’s Voice

John Dodd

President Emeritus, Jesse Helms Center Foundation

Ginni Thomas

President, Liberty Consulting

Aidan Chao

Los Angeles Taxpayers Association

Gene Mills

President, Louisiana Family Forum

L. Brent Bozell III

Founder and President, Media Research Center

Dan Schneider

Vice President for Free Speech, Media Research Center

Tim Jones

Chairman, Missouri Center-Right Coalition

Doug Kellogg

Executive Director, Ohioans for Tax Reform

Tom Hebert

Executive Director, Open Competition Center

Matt Brooks

CEO, Republican Jewish Coalition

Kerri Tolockzo

Meeting Chair, South West Florida Center-Right Coalition

Kristan Hawkins

President, Students for Life of America

Marjorie Dannenfelser

President, SBA Pro-Life America

Jason Williams

Director, Taxpayer Association of Oregon

Kevin Riffe

Chairman, West Virginia Center-Right Coalition

James L. Martin


60 Plus Association

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis

President, 60 Plus Association