2008 Taxpayer Awards: Nominations open to the public!

The 2008 Taxpayer Awards are near!!!! Because the Taxpayer Association loves direct democracy, we open the nominations to the public. So please post a comment nominating for any of the open catagories. See last year’s Awards show here.


Thomas Jefferson Award:
Awarded to Oregonians for advancing the principles of individual liberty and limited government in 2007.

Wiener Politician Award:
The most obnoxious, cowardly, or reckless elected official.

Pork Barrel Project :
The worst example of government waste.

Bureaucratic Bungler :
The worst example of government regulation, bureaucracy, or mistake

Golden Schnoz Award :
Best example of government sticking its nose in other people’s business.

Government Innovation Award :
Best example of government cost-savings or successful program