GOP picks 5 to replace Rep. Nearman… including Nearman

By NW Spotlight,

Usually County Republican Committee Precinct People pick three candidates to fill a vacant seat, but the assembly chose five.  Here they are in terms of final vote count.

#1. Mike Nearman  – Former Rep.
#2. John Swanson – Senator Staff
#3. Jim Bunn – Former Congressman
#4. Micky Garus – Former City Councilor
#5. Anna Scharf – School Board Chair

These five will go before several County Commissioners for a vote. Slightly over 50% of the vote to approve comes from Polk County and their three Commissioners with the rest of the vote divided among Yamhill, Marion and Benton.