Sen. Thatcher: Multi-state effort to end archaic Daylight Savings Time

Western Legislative Coalition Announces Multi-State Effort for Standard Time
Elected representatives introduce legislation to end archaic time changes

By Oregon State Senator Kim Thatcher

Salem, Ore — Oregon, Washington, California and Idaho formed a working group to propose legislation in respective states to make the Pacific Standard Time permanent.

Oregon state Senator Kim Thatcher of Keizer will introduce Senate Bill 1548 when Oregon’s legislative session begins on Feb. 5.

“Oregonians have long-expressed their desire to stop changing the clock,” said Thatcher. “Some prefer keeping daylight saving time over standard time, and many don’t care which – they just want to stop changing the clock. Since daylight saving time is just not possible without congressional approval, and after waiting five years for Congress to approve a DST bill that passed here in Oregon in 2019, standard time has become a common-sense choice for 2024 and doesn’t need approval from Congress. Research also shows standard time is the healthier choice! I’m grateful to have the privilege of working with our surrounding states as they, too, introduce bills to ditch the switch!”

In Washington, Senate Bill 5795, introduced by Senator Mike Padden, received a public hearing last Tuesday in the Senate State Government and Elections Committee.

“If there is one issue most people agree on, it’s the dislike of moving their clocks from standard time to daylight saving time in the spring and then back to standard time in the fall,” said Padden of Spokane Valley. “There have been scientific studies connecting several health problems with switching back and forth between standard time and daylight saving time, including greater risks of heart attacks and more frequent workplace injuries. This bill would allow Washington to finally ‘ditch the switch’ by keeping us on standard time permanently.”

In California, Assemblyman Tri Ta of Westminster has introduced Assembly Bill (AB) 1776 and is awaiting a committee hearing. “California voters are tired of disruptive time changes that have outlived their usefulness,” said Ta. “I am honored to join this multi-state coalition, and I know that this will make a difference to promote the health of the people of California and across the American West.”

The principal co-author of AB 1776, Senator Roger Niello of Fair Oaks, shared, “I am glad to be collaborating with representatives of multiple states to make standard time permanent.” He continued, “Different legislative processes and timelines can be challenging, but we are all working together to make Pacific Standard Time permanent so that our constituents can avoid the disruptive process of adjusting their clocks twice a year and adapting to the time change.”

“In Idaho our standard time bill has been drafted as RS30948 and will move to the House State Affairs Committee within the next 10 days, where we are confident of its passage,” said Idaho state Representative Joe Alfieri of Coeur d’Alene.

Here is the current list of representatives that are part of the working group to make the standard time permanent:

Oregon (Note: The Oregon Legislature begins its 2024 session on Feb. 5.)
Senator Kim Thatcher

Senator Mike Padden

Senator Roger Niello
Assemblyman Tri Ta

Representative Joe Alfieri