End Daylight Savings fails by 1 vote

By Taxpayers Association of Oregon


The much publicized Oregon bill to end Daylight Savings Time, SB 1548, arrived on the Senate Floor for a vote.

SB 1548, failed by one vote.

To keep SB 1548 alive, the bill sponsor Oregon State Senator Thatcher switched her vote from Yes to No (which creates a process for the bill to be reconsidered for another possible vote).

SB 1548 has been among the most interesting and unpredictable bills of the Oregon February Legislative Session.

Here is how the vote went:

About 222 people submitted testimony in support of SB 1548, while 80 people opposed SB 1548 during the Senate public hearing.

SB 1548, summary reads, “For the part of the state in the Pacific Time Zone, stops the one-hour change of time in the spring and fall of each year and keeps the zone at standard time year-round. (Flesch Readability Score: 73.3). For the part of the state located in the Pacific Time Zone, abolishes the annual one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and maintains the Pacific Time Zone portion of Oregon on standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year.”

— Was this helpful?  If so, Contribute online at OregonWatchdog.com (learn about a Charitable Tax Deduction or Political Tax Credit options to promote liberty).