Will Sen. Doug Whitsett run for re-election in 2016?

Sen Doug Whitsett

Sen Doug Whitsett

by NW Spotlight

Half of Oregon’s 30 state senate seats are up for election in 2016 – Oregon state senators serve 4-year terms. As was previously reported in Oregon Catalyst “There are 8 Republican seats and 7 Democratic seats up for election.”

On Wednesday of this week, the Oregon Senate Republican Office announced that seven of those eight Republican senators “have announced that they will seek re-election next November.” The one name missing from the list was Sen. Doug Whitsett (R-Klamath Falls), who frequently appears in Oregon Catalyst.

The Bend Bulletin reported this week that “The fate of Sen. Doug Whitsett, R-Klamath Falls, wasn’t immediately clear,” and that “A Whitsett aide said the three-term Republican was in a meeting with two other legislators and wasn’t immediately available to confirm whether he would run to serve another four-year term. The aide said he hadn’t spoken with Whitsett about whether he’d run again.”

The Bulletin also reported that “Senate Minority Leader Ted Ferrioli, R-John Day, said several members of the caucus had a ‘difference of opinion’ over whether their names would appear on the release announcing who would seek re-election.”

Oregon Senate Republican Office announcement:

Senate Republicans Announce List of Incumbents Filing for Re-election

Salem, OR – Following the extremely partisan 2015 legislative session, the Oregon Senate Republicans are looking to the future and preparing for the 2016 election cycle. Eight members of the Oregon Senate Republican caucus are up for reelection in November 2016.

“Every Senate Republican has demonstrated their commitment to fight for the citizens of their districts,” said Senate Republican Leader Ted Ferrioli (R-John Day). “The Oregon legislature needs balance, and Senate Republicans will continue to stand up for families and small businesses in rural Oregon. Despite the pervasive partisanship in the legislature we will keep advocating for more jobs in struggling communities, increased economic security for working families, and expanded educational opportunities. Campaigns can be grueling, but we are willing to make the necessary sacrifices to restore balance to the legislature and serve all Oregonians.”

The following Senate Republicans have announced that they will seek re-election next November:

  • Senator Herman Baertschiger, Jr. (R-Grants Pass)
  • Senator Brian Boquist (R-Dallas)
  • Senator Ted Ferrioli (R-John Day)
  • Senator Fred Girod (R-Stayton)
  • Senator Bill Hansell (R-Athena)
  • Senator Tim Knopp (R-Bend)
  • Senator Jeff Kruse (R-Roseburg)