Oregon ranked 9th most liberal by CPAC


CPAC Presents 45 Lawmakers “Coalition of Radical Left” Awards

ALEXANDRIA, VA (September 19, 2022) — The voting of Oregon’s state lawmakers has placed the legislature as the 9th most liberal in America according to a new 50 state analysis conducted by the Center for Legislative Accountability (CLA), a project of CPAC Foundation and the American Conservative Union Foundation.

In CPAC’s analysis of all 7,400 state lawmakers in America, the Oregon legislature earned a conservative rating of 32%, placing the state below neighboring Nevada (35%), Washington (39%), and Idaho (70%), but above California (25%).

Only 7 Oregon lawmakers earned awards from CPAC for their conservative ratings of 80% or above, while 45 lawmakers earned CPAC’s “Coalition of the Radical Left” award for conservative ratings of 10% or below. The conservative rating is calculated through CPAC’s scorecards and is based on lawmaker voting across 186 policy areas ranging from cultural and life issues to tax, fiscal, and regulatory policies. Each year the CLA tallies over 260,000 votes to generate the scores.



Awards for Conservative Excellence and Achievement

Dennis Linthicum (93%)
Dallas Heard (89%)
Brian Boquist (88%)
Art Robinson (88%)
Werner E. Reschke (87%)
Bill Post (84%)
Kim Thatcher (84%)

Coalition of the Radical Left Award

Peter Courtney (9%)
Lew Frederick (9%)
Jeff Golden (9%)
David Gomberg (9%)
Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (9%)
Maxine Dexter (8%)
Marty Wilde (8%)
Lee Beyer (7%)
Brian Clem (7%)
Michael Dembrow (7%)
Sara Gelser (7%)
Chris Gorsek (7%)
Ken Helm (7%)
Kayse Jama (7%)
Tina Kotek (7%)
Jason Kropf (7%)
Teresa Alonso Leon (7%)
Katie Lieber (7%)
John Lively (7%)
Rachel Prusak (7%)
Jeff Reardon (7%)
Lisa Reynolds (7%)
Chuck Riley (7%)
Rob Wagner (7%)
Barbara Smith Warner (7%)
Anna Williams (7%)
Ginny Burdick (5%)
Dacia Grayber (5%)
Paul Holvey (5%)
Pam Marsh (5%)
Karin Power (5%)
Dan Rayfield (5%)
Andrea Salinas (5%)
Andrea Valderrama (5%)
WInsvey Campos (4%)
Julie Fahey (4%)
Zach Hudson (4%)
Susan McLain (4%)
Nancy Nathanson (4%)
Courtney Neron (4%)
Rob Nosse (4%)
Khanh Pham (4%)
Floyd Prozanski (4%)
Kathleen Taylor (4%)
Ricki Ruiz (3%)
Sheri Schouten (2%)
Janeen Sollman (2%)
Tawna Sanchez (0%)

The ratings have also been incorporated into CPAC’s new Lawmaker Comparison Tool which runs head-to-head comparisons on lawmaker’s strongest and weakest policy areas.

The CLA is the first and only organization to annually publish individual ratings for all 8,000 federal and state lawmakers in America. The CLA is also home to the nation’s most comprehensive conservative policy database containing over 18,500 detailed bill analyses which span 50 years of Congress and all 50 state legislatures.